Burger King’s New Impossible Whopper, is it really vegetarian?

Back to Article
Back to Article

Burger King’s New Impossible Whopper, is it really vegetarian?

Cole Haas '20, Reporter

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






It might be impossible to be truly vegetarian.
On Jan 28, I tried Burger King’s new Impossible Whopper. When I opened it up, I saw the burger, and a paper that explained the concept of the burger. I put the paper aside and opened up the burger. It had the “vegetarian” patty, lettuce, mayo, tomatoes, and pickles, all between a pair of sesame buns. 

The Impossible Whopper tastes just like a regular Whopper with the beef patty. Is it too good to be true? The shocking fact was yet to come.

If you do not say anything to the cashier, the burger is cooked on the same grill as the meat patties are. So the advertisement, “100% Whopper, 0% Beef” is misleading. According to Burger King’s website however, you can request to have your burger cooked differently in the fine print: “a non-broiler method of preparation is available upon request.”

 So if you are a vegetarian (like myself), you may still enjoy this burger, but you need to request it to be cooked differently. In advertisements, not just fast food, if it looks too good to be true, it probably is. Although with its whopping size, it may be impossible to finish.